The last atmospheric post for a while…honest

Hello All

Firstly, thanks to the comments I have received of late from a certain few regulars. Small but encouraging. Thanks. Also, much appreciate those recent new followers. I now have 39. Does anyone looking fancy making it a nice round 40?!

Additionally, I have now found the need to create a Photobox account as I was approached by a colleague for a print of a photograph I was displaying at work (thanks to my bosses for that). So, again…it’s now nice and easy to digitally send an image to them and create it in whichever format you want; I shan’t ask too much over the cost of the item (alas, I am not made of money and need to eat) but I will charge a percentage as I did in this last case. What not browse the archives and see what you like or ask me for a theme?

Have a think about it. Which is more than I can do at the moment as we have had a rash of Eurofighters flying over us of late using the target range near Castlemartin. They might be very high, but when they climb on full power under the cloud and rain we have here now it sounds like they’re idling in the garden!

Oooh, I have just realised that there is a tenuous link to the first images I am posting. Super! The link is that the phenomena are both from contrails. Firstly, a contrail shadow. I made the image a bit obvious as to how these are caused..in this instance it is simply that the sun is at such a height from the horizon that the contrail is above and is casting a shadow on the higher cloud…

Slightly darkened to show contrast, a contrail shadow

Slightly darkened to show contrast, a contrail shadow

Secondly, another form of contrail shadow in a way. In this case the sun was right “on the nose” of the contrail, neither above or below and cast a shadow which, essentially, goes as far as the eye can see until the curvature of the earth eradicates it. The short way to describe it is the exact opposite point to the sun. Alas, my lens is not wide enough to capture a decent image but you get the idea…

Okay, so it's not spectacular, but when was the last time you saw a shadew this long?

Okay, so it’s not spectacular, but when was the last time you saw a shadew this long?

Can you feel your brains expanding with useless pub quiz knowledge? Eeeeexcellent. Next is something that you may have experienced through polarized sunglasses when glancing at clouds covering the sun or even seen in the same instance as this. Iridescence. Mr Wikipedia says that the explanation for this occasion is the presence of microscopic structures interfering with the light moving through this (frankly messy) spiders web….

This spider is either confused or rebuilding...that web is a mess!

This spider is either confused or rebuilding…that web is a mess!

Next, an older image that some of my Ceredigion readers may appreciate from a day when I was out in the hills from a blue sky filled with fair weather cloud to a weird, gloopy sunset I can’t really explain.

It’s nice to drive up into the hills now and again and you don’t have to travel too far off the road to experience a beautiful view of a classic shallow glacial gouge (I think) that has existed for many decades.

A view towards Cardigan from the Preseli Hills in old style B & W

A view towards Cardigan from the Preseli Hills in old style B & W

Upon my return, things had got a bit dull and dreary but once I had got in, I was noticing that there was a bit Asperatus around. Remember this? Although they can make the sky look dark and threatening, but they don’t always appear with or near rain, although I would say I have experienced that this is the case in about 3/4 of the time I have seen these clouds….

A deck of Asperatus. Might be rain again.

A deck of Asperatus. Might be rain again.

During the evening, things got a little darker and I had to lighten this image to make it viewable. For some reason I had fiddled with the exposure setting on my camera that meant it wasn’t easy to view on the PC.

Okay, this Asperatus means business. But wait...is it breaking up?

Okay, this Asperatus means business. But wait…is it breaking up?

However, after a few hours, things inexplicably cleared and presented me with a long-range view of a very strange sunset. Bear in mind it wasn’t quite this orange when I saw it (this is at full zoom and cropped) but what is that cloud?? Looks for all the world to be the son of Pileus, Asperatus and Lenticular. However, to the west I am fairly sure there’s nothing for Lenticular clouds to form over….unless this was just a freak?

I am still unsure as to this cloud but I am glad I saw it, as I haven't seen it since. Want a copy? I have plenty of images of this sunset!

I am still unsure as to this cloud but I am glad I saw it, as I haven’t seen it since. Want a copy? I have plenty of images of this sunset!

Let me know what you think if you fancy throwing your hat in the ring.

Ah yes, I nearly forgot. It’s that time again with regards the Weathernet calendar and the competition is open to hobby photographers such as myself. I have managed to put together around 20 images I think that are half decent. I believe that my father is going to view them with his independent eye and say whether they are worth submitting so…wish me luck!

Thanks for stopping by, see you all soon. We are on to images of Belgium next, I promise. However, I will freely admit I will be splicing in some sunsets from before I went for colour as it rained a lot when I was there! Taa-raa.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by bookvolunteer on July 7, 2014 - 10:55 pm

    I love your clouds. Belgium will be good, I’m sure, but bring the clouds back soon.

Leave a Reply

