Summer storminess and a Preseli wander (Part 2)

Well, here we are back again.

The summer storminess pictures have gone and we are, as promised on to the Preseli wildlife and landscape images. As I have said, look close enough and you can see lots of interesting things either flying around or crawling around on the ground. I quite often find that I’m distracted by rustling in a bush as I watch a sunset and have seen some interesting bugs!

On this occasion as you might be able to tell, things kind of came to me! Just off the road, up a not so well-worn trail it doesn’t take long to find that there is ages old lichen enjoying the sun. I’m sure it’s not as old of the types you find in the Arctic that grows at a millimetre a century or something but I bet this patch has seen a bit of history…..

One of the slowest growing plants in the world I believe. Not this particular one, but as a species.

One of the slowest growing plants in the world I believe. Not this particular one, but as a species.

Just up the way, a patch of Gorse was attracting flies and bees (which all flew away as I approached of course). Now, Mr Wikipedia states that this is evergreen and has small tough leaves to grow in dry conditions. Dry? In West Wales? No. I consider it is probably to avoid being nibbled by pesky sheep and wild ponies. Apparently it also has a distinct coconut smell but this can be experienced in different strengths by different people. I’d say I’m probably on the weak end of that scale as I couldn’t smell a thing….

Oooooh, thorny...and very yellow

Oooooh, thorny…and very yellow

Now, the star of the show. Found this little fella just along from a pool of water on a rock warming his wings. I was able to sit next to him for a good 15 minutes as I thougth I’d just be able to take a quick snap before he scooted off but no, it seems he was happy just keeping a beady compound eye on me and I got some lovely close-ups.

I think he is yellow-ringed dragonfly. Lovely!

I think he is yellow-ringed dragonfly. Lovely!

Along from this little guy was probably his previous home or at least a home to something, judging by the activity back and forth at the bottom of the pool! It’s a shame I didn’t take a video, it was like rush hour down there. Some of the best water going in this pool, filtered through the rocks for god knows how long. I would bottle it if it wasn’t for the extra protein you’d receive in little critters at the bottom!

Difficult to see but this pool was busy...easier to see that I accidentally caught some nice surface tension from the grass

Difficult to see but this pool was busy…easier to see that I accidentally caught some nice surface tension from the grass

Just a wider angle of the above image for a bit of context here. Lucky sheep drinking this clear water!

With pools like this you now realise why waterproof boots are a must when walking up here!

With pools like this you now realise why waterproof boots are a must when walking up here!

As i got to the top of the hill, the landscape was such that it was a case of having to take a quick shot. Lovely farm in the distance, at this time of year anyhow. In the winter with the gales, not so much. On the upper left you can see a cairn that is just above Newport/Fishguard…further on into the distance you can see what looks like haze but that is actually the Irish Sea. if you stood here long enough you would see the ferry plying its trade eventually.

View towards the Irish Sea from the Lower Preselis

View towards the Irish Sea from the Lower Preselis

Last but not least…cut little horsies! Aren’t they gorgeous?! I was presuming they are a family group with Mum busily munching away there too. Me being an animal person, it was hard not to go over and pet them but being semi-wild they aren’t very trusting of people; I imagine this is probably a good thing, as there is always some unkind or stupid person with a dog off a lead or unruly kids that might hurt of frighten them. Awwwwww.

You can almost hear the grey horse badgering the other sibling.....play with me!

You can almost hear the grey horse badgering the other sibling…..play with me!

Well, there is part 2 dealt with. I expect I will be back to my usual weather pictures as of next time. There were a lot of interesting clouds about last year though to be fair. Pity me…I’m obsessed! However, i shall mix it up a bit soon as I have some pictures from a recent holiday to Belgium to post. Going all European I am!

Thanks for dropping in and stay tuned…appreciate all the views (new record of 21 in a day of late!) and please feel free to comment as ever. Ta-ta for now!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

