Summer storminess and a Preseli wander (Part 1)

Hello again!

You know that promise I made at the end of the last blog. Hmmm….well, I am kind of sticking to it but stretching things a little as there were some good images of “explosive” cumulus clouds at the end of Summer and there were some nice colourful images one evening that I just had to share! sorry about that…but, stick with it.

I have more of the Preseli Hills to share in Part 2 of this post…I couldn’t cram everything I wanted to into just one post.

Anyway, before we continue, a little shout out to the poor disillusioned soul who parked in Haverfordwest today where I work and decided that, upon receipt of a parking ticket for not paying, they’d put it on my car instead. I can only imagine that this is because their outlook on life is that of an ostrich. If they had an ounce of sense, they would know that not only are the details of the vehicle recorded inside a sealed bag (I don’t drive a black BMW) but also that ignoring stuff like this just makes it worse as in a while, the owner will be found (they record the tax number and such) and pay many times more than the original fine due to costs of bailiffs etc. What is wrong with people?!  Well, wherever you are, Mr/Miss/Ms/Mrs BMW driver with loose moral fibre, spend the money you think you saved by dishonestly trying to palm your ticket off onto me wisely and quickly, it’ll cost you more soon!!

Rant over and on to the pictures….my favourite part. Firstly, a collection of layered clouds I can’t quite find the name for. To me they look like flattened Asperatus but I am sure this is wrong. Shame the sun wasn’t shining on them to pick up the details a little more.

Flattened Asperatus...long Lenticular clouds? Who knows!

Flattened Asperatus…long Lenticular clouds? Who knows!

Onto the most impressive and most quickly formed clouds I have seen of an evening in a summer here. During the day, they were scattered showers all over but as the day came to an end, little puffs of Cumulus started appearing all over so I nipped off on my bicycle to catch the best angle I could. In the first instance, a shot from the house…..

I spy with my little eye a big Cumulus cloud

I spy with my little eye a big Cumulus cloud

After this and in the opposite direction (the previous image was towards the east), there was some very colourful wisps building in height over the refinery. I stuck around in this field for some time as I could see that there would be some nice colours from these….

Quite how many different types of cloud are in here I'm unsure but it was lovely to behold

Quite how many different types of cloud are in here I’m unsure but it was lovely to behold

Back towards the east, another big puffy Cumulus. Lovely. I know, I know, this is nothing compared to the storm chasing you may see across Nebraska and Kansas on the TV but for here, it’s pretty impressive…especially since when I arrived a short while earlier there was nothing there! Dare I say that there is a very nice structure to it? Sounds a bit sad doesn’t it. Sorry.

Nice blue sky, Cirrus, Cumulus and crops just outside Rosemarket

Nice blue sky, Cirrus, Cumulus and crops just outside Rosemarket

Alas, these puffs of bubbliness didn’t last too long and didn’t come to much (at least not that I could see as they were too low to see and rain and such) so I moved on to one of my usual haunts where the last light of the day was making for a nice colourful skyscape…

Okay, so it's mainly condensation from the refinery but I'd give it an Honourable Mention

Okay, so it’s mainly condensation from the refinery but I’d give it an Honourable Mention

Well, that is the cloud based images done. I promised some landscapes from the Preseli Hills and here we are. Some time during Summer this year I must go up and experiment with some astrophotography now I have downloaded some instructions on how to do it. My usual method of trial and error was not wielding any decent results at all. Keep you eyes peeled for that stuff anyway and me celebrating a good session. Until then, there are a few nice open landscapes to enjoy….

A summers day in the Preselis. Imagine a picnic here...go on, it's worth a visit!

A Summer’s day in the Preselis. Imagine a picnic here…go on, it’s worth a visit!

Lovely day when I popped up, blue skies, not much wind and the green grass and grey “bluestone” contrasted very well as you can see. Further on in the set, there will be more structured remains that you may enjoy. All this walking distance from the main Cardigan to Haverfordwest road. Which, incidentally is a blast in my car….Officer 🙂

Blue sky...blue stone. Looking towards Cardigan across the Hills

Blue sky…blue stone. Looking towards Cardigan across the Hills

Last image for this part now which shows one of the greatest shames of the Hills. I think so anyway. At the top of the hill on the right, you can see a yellowy scar where once stood a large copse/forest of pine. These have been harvested and boy, do the trucks and trailers make a mess. Such a shame. I realise that this type of product is a cash crop but this area is a National Park; it seems at odds with the rest of the landscape (which is grazed or boggy).

A wider view of the previous image looking towards Cardigan; ignore the scar top right!

A wider view of the previous image looking towards Cardigan; ignore the scar top right!

Anyway, I think I have levelled my opinion way too much in this post so I shall give you all a rest. Next time, I shall show you some of the more interesting wildlife that I encountered in my short wander. No, it’s not a cloud. Cynical lot.

As ever, I much appreciate you dropping in and encourage comments, criticism or random facts about any of the things I have spoken about; I shall pop the other images up in the next week or so. In the meantime, have a good week whatever you are up to. Ta-ra!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by bookvolunteer on May 6, 2014 - 8:13 pm

    I love that blue sky blue stone photo! Can I use it on my Dinas blog – with text directing readers to your wonderful site?

    • #2 by lukegeoffreyjohnson on May 7, 2014 - 8:12 pm

      Hi Sue

      Please do. There will be more to choose from in the near future if you wish. Thanks for commenting

      Luke

      • #3 by bookvolunteer on May 7, 2014 - 10:49 pm

        Thanks. I’m really looking forward to seeing part 2.

Leave a Reply

