The breaking of the 2013 Summer drought (Part 1)

Hello everyone,

I hope that everyone is well. It’s all hectic here as ever with issues with my car (don’t ask) and such going on, so apologies if this post is a little later than you expected but there is a need to be here, there and everywhere at the moment!

Our weather is warming up as we speak; although it was raining steadily (but lightly) this morning, there is an increase in the brightness by the minute so I’m hopeful for another colourful sunset this evening or tomorrow. With the warming weather comes the jobs to be doing outside as well…the lawnmower sits eagerly awaiting the first lawn cut of the season as we speak!

There have been some heavy showers flying around of late and there were a few anvil clouds silhouetted last night that I managed to snap. Unfortunately they were way, way, away over the West towards Ireland so it’s not the best picture. Maybe Summer will bring some dramatic skies again?

Speaking of dramatic skies brings me nicely onto this post. I realised as I was going through all the images I wanted to post that there were way too many to put up in one tranche….if I did I could almost imagine heads hitting keyboards! So, I have popped a few of the images together and chosen a natural break in the day that I took them to stop before posting the colourful conclusion….intriguing. Probably not, but I hope you like it it all the same.

As an aside, this is one of those posts that all the images were taken in one day, just so you can get an idea of quite how massive the changes were in the cloud deck. Anyway, the day started with a run out to Fishguard where, on the return journey, there is one of my usual haunts near Wolfscastle that I pop into for a quick watery portrait…..

A view along the river near Wolfscastle, no Otters or Kingfishers today

A view along the river near Wolfscastle, no Otters or Kingfishers today

As you can see, although there isn’t a lack of water in the river due to the drought (this is direct from the Preseli Hills which are never all that dry for long as they are mainly boggy) but having been there a few times the drop in level was quite noticeable. Here there has been talk of the sighting of a family of otters; I bumped into a fisherman a while back who told me that once that he was growled at by one! I guess that was a warning to stay away from the fish!

This was the only wildlife that stayed still long enough for me to get a picture of..

This was the only wildlife that stayed still long enough for me to get a picture of..

 

Nothing doing on this occasion and I’m probably far too noisy as I walk although if you are lucky, you might scare a kingfisher away and see a flash of blue as they shoot up onto the bank to hide. As I travelled home, the sky became more overcast (those who visit often know that I spend quite a lot of time looking up) and the air grew heavier, so it appeared that the weather forecast for rain was right. However, the cloud was looking pretty evil by later afternoon…..

Nice tail of cloud off to the right there...closest I get to dramatic storms

Nice tail of cloud off to the right there…closest I get to dramatic storms

I took a quick snap of a nicely formed tailing cloud from a storm and thought that was that. I was wrong. This turned out to be an attack of Asperatus, one of the best looking sets of Asperatus I have seen. To find out more about this gorgeous type of cloud, I recommend using this link if you like pictures (http://cloudappreciationsociety.org/cloud-tags/asperatus/#p=1&t=cloud118&i=0) or this one (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Undulatus_asperatus) if you wish to read about the decisions that need to be made to classify the cloud as a new type and how they come to be formed.

Look at that...you don't see a shape like that every day do you?!

Look at that…you don’t see a shape like that every day do you?!

I have seen these quite a few time since living in Pembrokeshire and they always seem to either precede or follow a long period of dry weather which is going to be “broken” by rain. Or at least that’s my experience. However, in my eyes the most important bit is the fact they look pretty awesome.

After the most dramatic shapes, things started to settle down

After the most dramatic shapes, things started to settle down

As I said, I took looooooads of pictures. I think I counted about 50 or 60 when i was going through the archive folder (all different shapes and shades so I had to choose a few good examples and hope these are OK).

A nice bit of orange from a previously blocked out sun creeping in here

A nice bit of orange from a previously blocked out sun creeping in here

By the time I had taken these last images, I thought that the clouds had passed us by and things would settle down to be a bit boring, flat and grey. Mischief was nearby, so he caught my attention instead…..

Although it looks as though he is eating the fence, I think it was a piece of grass that looked...a bit threatening

Although it looks as though he is eating the fence, I think it was a piece of grass that looked…a bit threatening

It’s hardly a flattering picture and I’m sure he wouldn’t thank me for posting images of his chunky little tummy for you all to see but he can’t argue!

Wandering back indoors, I considered that the photogenic nature of these clouds had dried up but it appeared that I was wrong, I was out down the road taking pictures until dark! Part 2 will come along shortly….those who like a bit more colour will enjoy it I’m sure.

In the meantime, thanks for bearing with me and hope you’ll pop back in a week or so for the finishing images. Tatty bye for now!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

