Still it continues to blow and pour!

Hello everyone!

As I say above, still the weather is crappy in my part of the world, so I have dug out some nice pictures of the garden on sunnier days to keep you all occupied. It’s been a good six weeks since we have had proper sustained period of dry weather, let alone some sunshine. Some happenings have been quite exciting like this story about a bus driver and his possible poor decision; http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-26008829.

I shan’t be unfair, there has been the odd dry day but certainly not enough to dry anything out, apart from portions of pavement or road! To be honest, I have forgotten what colour my car and bike are…I think I opted for a red car but can’t recall!

Anyway, onto the pictures as ever. We have a few clematis bushes in the garden and during the flowering season they always put on a good show. Not entirely sure if this will be stunted this year as they are all clinging to frames that are being battered by the wind and hail, but hopefully not….

The seeds head (the fluffy bits) are understandably referred to as "Old Mans Beard"

The seeds head (the fluffy bits) are understandably referred to as “Old Mans Beard”

Here we have another hoverfly on a shrub which has defied identification. It’s nice though and always comes out a lovely bushy pink colour so I shall now name it the pinky bushy bush (latin name, pinkus bushius maximus). There, I’m a scientist. Hooray! Remember, be friendly to hoverflys. When Summer does come, don’t be whacking them away thinking they’re wasps, they fight pests and ensure our gardens look good!

A hoverfly on my newly named shrub. Remember...big up the hoverfly!

A hoverfly on my newly named shrub. Remember…big up the hoverfly!

Now a vista of the suntrap corner around by the garage, with a very nicely placed bench for afternoon cups of tea. In fact, although it’s weird to think it now, the temperature gets pretty damn hot there on warm days and one of the plants (you might not be able to see it) is an olive tree! Mischief enjoys a good bask there on occasion….

Trees in leaf, blue skies and lovely small potted trees..it almost looks like a small part of the Algarve or something

Trees in leaf, blue skies and lovely small potted trees..it almost looks like a small part of the Algarve or something

Here’s another clematis, there are so many varieties I shan’t even try to look this up but out of the few we have in our garden, this is my favourite to photograph as the blooms are so large, up to the size of a saucer I’d say and the purple colour is very fetching.

A lovely deep purple clematis climbing on the garage

A lovely deep purple clematis climbing on the garage

Back to our old friend the honeysuckle. I think I mentioned it once in one of my hedgerow exploring trips but this one is tethered to the side of the garage near the purple clematis (well, it might not be now). Always good to spot butterflies when they are around on these blooms. It’s always nice to get a whiff of the flowers on a calm day too, one of those long-standing Summer memories.

Just along from the clematis, the long yellow trumpets of a climbing honeysuckle

Just along from the clematis, the long yellow trumpets of a climbing honeysuckle

Here he is again. The Mischief! he’s still not 100% after his tummy trouble of late but I honestly think (I’m no vet though) that the weather is really bringing him down like it is with everyone else. As you can see, he loves his time outside and if he is stuck in, he gets very cranky and tends to backchat and fidget a lot. Backchat I hear you ask…yes, we do talk to our cat. So what?!

Mischief hard at work measuring the length of one of our garden benches

Mischief hard at work measuring the length of one of our garden benches

As with all good things, the sunny weather comes to an end. I have a series of similar photos to this, but I chose to post this one as I recall the time I took it quite well. Spectacular it is not but I do remember that after the warmth and sun that we had been having, the even got very humid as this cloud rolled in. You know how people describe the air as close? This was one of those times, you could almost feel that the rain was just going to spontaneously appear in the air. Very weird but quite memorable.

In some stormchasing blogs I read, not sure if I'm right, but when a cloud like this moves in, I think it's called a "whales mouth"

In some stormchasing blogs I read, not sure if I’m right, but when a cloud like this moves in, I think it’s called a “whales mouth”

Well that’s your lot for this week. I have been having a look ahead as to what I’m posting next and there’s some goodies coming up, nice fair weather cirrus, sundogs, some lovely sunsets and a big dollop of asperatus as the weather properly broke over the house. As ever, I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I enjoy taking them.

Until next time, appreciate you dropping by!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Editors of Garden Variety on February 8, 2014 - 4:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing your pictorial inspirations with us. They are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

