A mysterious red rock

Hello All,

Well, well, well. I do some of my viewers who came along last week keep coming back. It seems a few days back I got a massive 54 in one day. I suspect it’s my Dad and a good friend in Plymouth using different computers and visiting to boost my ego, but thanks!

I did recently go out in the inclement weather to take a few pictures, but I’m not posting them as yet as the tinterweb is saturated with them and it would be in bad taste following the injuries sustained by people doing it in a foolhardy manner.

You may have seen my favourite beach on the national BBC news, Newgale, as the shingle (well, large pebble) breakwater to the beach which is directly next to the road to St Davids was washed wholesale inland and covered the road to a depth of a few feet. This subsequently let all the water from the stupendous high tides through and flooded one of my favourite coffee shops, dagnammit. If anyone wants these posted, let me know and I’m happy to do so, just pop me a comment. I also have images from Cenarth where the river was a record level flooding the car-park which is usually a good 6 to 10 foot above the water!

But, on to this weeks images and the first one, which inspired the weird title which you see below….

Red? This is not a sandstone red either...it was BRIGHT red

Red? This is not a sandstone red either…it was BRIGHT red

If anyone can account for a moss-covered rock which is this red, I’d love to hear it. I say moss-covered as I have removed from the equation that this may be due to chemical in the water from the fields in the Preseli Hills as some may think as surely moss would not settle. I did this by the time-honoured prodding and scraping of the surface and nowt came off. If anyone reckons it’s expensive, I shall return…..with a hammer.

I am quite proud of a few of the pictures in this entry as I manage to have nailed the use of the shutter and polarizer very well with some of the water shots, not least this one….

Makes for a relaxing wallpaper doesn't it? Don't nick it though, I can send you the higher res version if you want!

Makes for a relaxing wallpaper doesn’t it? Don’t nick it though, I can send you the higher res version if you want!

Bear in mind the water at the extreme right of the image is at least 6 inches deep and you can still see the rocks on the bottom, there’s some skills there I think (I have one two awards you know). A nice scattering of foliage adds to the hues as well.

Now this isn’t a macro, just a zoomed shot but I think it should be entitled “The Silver Curtain” as it looks just like that to me. Again, using a polarizer to cut down reflections and such, you can see the water behind the water and the reflection from the rock isn’t too bad…..

This a little mini waterfall; you can just see the main body in the upper left

This a little mini waterfall; you can just see the main body in the upper left

I was spoilt for choice of which of the two I had taken in a similar place to post but I decided on this one. Pretty good eh? The sun shone through the trees just at the right time to put rays right into the water which were exaggerated by the longer exposure time I had set; makes for a quite ethereal image…..

Sunrays and water, what a nice combo. Alas, I haven't seen many of the form lately

Sunrays and water, what a nice combo. Alas, I haven’t seen many of the form lately

As ever, if anyone wants the originals of these pictures, please feel free to ask and I am happy to send them however you want them.

Now the last image, which isn’t as nice as all the others I admit, but is here as a reference point for some more recent pictures I shot after the storm. Basically all the stepping stones you see here have either been washed downstream or toppled over!

All those block probably add up to the weight of a small car and they don't look like that anymore. Amazing

All those block probably add up to the weight of a small car and they don’t look like that anymore. Amazing

Never underestimate the power of water. All I will say is that I am glad I don’t live nearby or was anywhere near when the water was that powerful, as those blocks look damn heavy.

Well, that’s your lot for this week as I am back in work tomorrow. Not that I’m complaining, as it’s warmer and drier there than it is outside. Both Dad and I were lamenting earlier of the state of our cars! It will dry out some day.

Cheerio! Thanks for stopping by.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

