Sun phenomena….and examination of hedgerow inhabitants

Hello World!

Be easy on me, I’m recovering from a cold. I’m still a little coughy and spluttery to be honest but better than this time last week. Whilst in a shop in Carmarthen with my girlfriend, I had the pleasure of those “full body coughs” where you feel it coming and have to literally drop what you are holding as you need every muscle going; talking of muscles, I actually pulled my shoulder-blade doing one of those! Thankfully that stage has passed and I’m left with just the occasional cough.

On a happier note, look out Americas Cup. The boat I help crew on a Sunday out of Neyland is winning, as we got our second first place (the previous one was void as the wind was so light all boats exceeded the time allowed). We were staggered as we made some mistakes but it seems we can put it all together again and gain our places back. Woop! I am happy to send autographs if you want them 🙂

Anyway, on to the pictures. A few of some interesting Summer skies and then some macro style shots from the hedges I ride past on my bike. First up is the old staple, a crepuscular ray, but this time all very lonely and resembling a spotlight…

Lonely crepuscular rays at sunset

Lonely crepuscular rays at sunset

Next is a very nice contrail shadow. Only seen these a couple of times and it is a rare occurrence as it is down to sheer timing. I shan’t bore you all by explaining the science as it’s pretty obvious to see. It’s basically a fortuitous placement of a contrail and the sun….

It's just good timing, this picture

It’s just good timing, this picture

I can see you all yawning so I best mix things up a little hadn’t I? I occasionally pop out on my bike and this little bridge is a place I stop to brace myself for the pedal up the hill the other side. A few cars passed me by and I thought I would try a teeny bit of time-lapse. Only tenths of a second, but enough to portray the speed of a passing vehicle….

Did the Discovery driver realise he was going to be famous today?

Did the Discovery driver realise he was going to be famous today?

Next is a little hedgerow rummaging. It’s amazing what you can see if you look a little closer and walk a bit slower to be honest. I’m aware that Poppy Day has been and gone but every Summer, there is clump of these big poppies on the road near me and I decided to get a close up. I can only think they were planted as I have never seen any as big anywhere else near here….

Some "wild" ornamental poppies by the road in Sardis

Some “wild” ornamental poppies by the road in Sardis

Considered as only ornamental plants in most gardens, this is the Foxglove. Has a weird life, this plant, as it is (or at least has been) used in heart control drugs to smooth the rates of failing hearts, believe it or not. However, it does have the double-edged sword of being entirely toxic so this has been discontinued. Bummer. Pretty though….

I love to look into the gloves to see if I can see a bumblebee collecting pollen...

I love to look into the gloves to see if I can see a bumblebee collecting pollen…

Lastly, meet my furry little friend. A big old fluffy caterpillar. Kind freaky huh? I will confess that I am entirely ignorant of these little critters and when they are colourful and hairy, I tend to stay away especially when the two colours in predominance are yellow and black!

Be afraid, be very afraid...furry caterpillars abound!

Be afraid, be very afraid…furry caterpillars abound!

There you are, another exciting instalment of the back roads and weather of Pembrokeshire. Talking of weather, it’s blooming freezing here now, so Winter is very much here and I’m hoping for some nice frosty pictures soon. There’s plenty to see even now and I would encourage visitors, just don’t expect a guided tour, that’s what the Tourist Information Office is for!

See you all soon, thanks for dropping in.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

