Spring flooding in Pembrokeshire

Hello All,

I shan’t go into why I haven’t been here but I return. The weather’s lovely here, the sun is shining (although not correctly forecast) for the umpteenth time. I’m on a long weekend so I thought I would post a few pictures of one of my more interesting forays before I go out for a spin in the car.

I say interesting, as there is a scientific twang to some of the pictures, although I did manage to get my usual arty spin on even those! First, I shall start off with the nicer pictures…unusually by the way, this post covers a few areas I went to over the space of a week or so so excuse the skipping around.

One of my favourite haunts again. I know….booooring. However, as it had been very wet over the Winter/Spring, the showing of wild garlic was pretty massive. In fact, as you can see, where there wasn’t a path, there was wild garlic. All you have to do was brush against and you had wafts of garlic. It was very nice. I can only presume the smell was stronger as the flowers had died off and the bulbs were storing more energy to over winter. Or something.

Wild Garlic! Breathe deeply enough and you will suddenly speak with a ridiculous French accent

Wild Garlic! Breathe deeply enough and you will suddenly speak with a ridiculous French accent

As it had been so damp of late and this area is quite densely covered with a tree canopy, the logs that are around had quite considerable fungi growth on them, like this little chap. Funny, as I saw it and the colour, I thought if you picked it off and ate it, it would taste nutty. Weird….some subconcious link between brown and nuts?

By the way, with wild garlic and this kind of fungi, please don’t pick or eat. I’m sure you can if you know what you are doing but I’d personally steer clear!

Mmmm...nutty. Or the causes of much illness...not sure which

Mmmm…nutty. Or the causes of much illness…not sure which

Now on to the arty stuff. There’s my favourite waterfall, I had my circular polarizer in my pocket and a full battery so it seemed rude not to take a slow shutter shot. Actually, this gave me quite a headache. The sun kept coming out and going in, so most of the images I took were a bit screwed up as the settings were all wrong, so this is the best of a bad bunch. I was glad the stones showed up under the water though.

The waterfall that is a constant draw for me and a bit more wild garlic in the lower right

The waterfall that is a constant draw for me and a bit more wild garlic in the lower right

Now to the science kind of bit. As I mentioned before, there had been some considerable rain the few weeks before, pretty heavy too, the kind that creates a mist 6 inches above anything it hits. I think some areas of soil and such had pretty much waved a white flag! Upstream from the main waterfall, some trees had fallen and partly blocked the watercourse….

A natural dam just upstream from where I take all my pictures. Some pretty big logs there

A natural dam just upstream from where I take all my pictures. Some pretty big logs there

A little downstream, the stepping-stones had been undermined and were now all hickledy-pickledy. Luckily for me, I came prepared and had my wellies 🙂

If someone was going to walk across, I would have videoed them to post it on Youtube labelled FAIL!

If someone was going to walk across, I would have videoed them to post it on Youtube labelled FAIL!

Even further down, the beach that joins up with the Coastal Path had a fair portion of bank that had become exposed and was showing off its underwear for all to see. How rude! Nice slate, though.

The bank looks very soft, so hardly surprising that it had given up

The bank looks very soft, so hardly surprising that it had given up

In another place I often frequent, just along from Wolfscastle, there had been a very impressive bursting the banks of the little river there. You can see the normal course and the almost doubling of the width during the height of the flood. Impressive.

Looks horrible here but I went there the other week and no harm done. The nettles are as tall as me and a small nomadic tribe have taken up residence (the last bit's a lie by the way)

Looks horrible here but I went there the other week and no harm done. The nettles are as tall as me and a small nomadic tribe have taken up residence (the last bit’s a lie by the way)

Why, I ask myself, wasn’t I here to take some pictures when it was flooding? Oh well…maybe I don’t like getting wet. The way things are going with our Summers, it won’t be long until I get another chance! I shan’t go preaching about global warming or all that rubbish; my personal opinion is that we are such an insignificant spot on the planet that most of these things would happen in some form or other anyway, it’s just nobody would be recording them. Ooooh…political.

I shall leave you on that note, please feel free to put me “right ” (i.e give your opinion too) in the comments if you feel you want to. See you soon!

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

