Llys-Y Fran, Pembrokeshire

Hello everyone! Bit of a wet day today so I thought I’d catch up on this blog stuff as it’s been a couple of weeks.

So, to Llys-y-Fran, or to give it the full name, Llys-y-Fran Country Park, this is a big old reservoir that serves a fair proportion of the county I’d imagine. It has circular walks and boat hire and you can even go fishing on it. Whilst this would be interesting, I’m not entirely convinced that I want to eat this fish…if you even can. The agreement may be a “catch and release” scheme, if not I’d imagine you eat at your own risk!

Anyway, none of that fishy fish wander about and knacker yourself out stuff interests me, I’m more interested in the visual impact of the dam at the end and the moving water you often see in the vent (at least I think it’s a vent) to the side of the dam. I sure it’s more complicated than I describe, but here it is….

The main dam drain and vent (I'm sure I have just made those terms up) at Llys-y-Fran

The main dam drain and vent (I’m sure I have just made those terms up) at Llys-y-Fran

Just up the way from the little bridge that crosses the water-course draining out, there’s the ruin of an old building. I have googled etc but do you think I can find anything out about it? All I can imagine is that it was a storage shed or something which just fell into disrepair and was never replaced. I think it looks quite nice now covered with ivy and such.

A strange ruined building just on the way past the dam; you might have to squint to see it to be honest as it's been "reclaimed"

A strange ruined building just on the way past the dam; you might have to squint to see it to be honest as it’s been “reclaimed”

When I’d been looking at the ruin, the sun had come out a little more so the colour in the vent water was in turn a little more vivid so I decided to go back for one more snap.

Brighter sun, brighter rainbow :)

Brighter sun, brighter rainbow 🙂

Couple of disadvantages to the Llys-y-Fran; if you are walking there are hundreds of steps but if you are driving, it has the most fun road in the county for zipping up and down, as it has cool rising hairpins in like in a range of mountains. However, there are always silly people walking down them with unruly children or MPVs stopping to get a view. Blast them all!

Some of you may be thinking that this is irresponsible of me to want to go nipping up and down the hill? Well, you’d be wrong, as there is actually a Council sponsored Hill Climb event here every year, so there. I have 180hp so I may very well try it one day…

Anyway, back to a couple of Spring sunsets; as I said before, the weather started picking up on this download so a good sunset was more prevalent. In fact, during this recent dry spell there have been may things I haven’t seen for some time; vivid red and pink sunsets, crepuscular and anti-crepuscular rays, asperatus (very impressive), towering cumulus, even some obvious convection on very humid nights…and think I spotted arcus cloud one evening.

All this to come my friends! However, I’m afraid the Spring sunsets are a little more watered down…

From left to right, light to dark. Very nice...and a contrail to boot

From left to right, light to dark. Very nice…and a contrail to boot

This is not to say that I don’t enjoy them or that they are any less welcome, I love all sunsets and I enjoy fiddling with the camera to get the best out of them for others to see.

I reduced the shutter speed to make this image a little darker than in real life, but only to exaggerate the rays which were just visible

I reduced the shutter speed to make this image a little darker than in real life, but only to exaggerate the rays which were just visible

The rain is really beating down here. I think this may very well mean that the hot days we have had of late could well be on the way out. If it reaches 20C during the day now, I’d be quite surprised, but I am no weather forecaster, I just like looking at it.

Until next time, best wishes to all who take the time to read this. Ta-ta!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

