The strength of the wind

Hello again,

How are we all? Hope all is well. For all those living locally, are you enjoying the weather? Must admit, I fed up of a constant humidity and 80F but things look to be on the turn. Took some lovely scuddy cloud pictures last night…I was sure there was going to be an electrical storm any second it was so still and heavy, but no. Darn.

Anyway, you may recall that the end of the last blog I was going to post some images of an area I walk to on occasion that I visited after a windy night. I have taken pictures of the area before this but do you think I can find them? I think you will have to bear with me on this one and I shall describe things as best I can. The area was full of leafless but mature large trees the last time I visited…you might be able to gain an impression from the second image of the trees in the distance.

As I climbed over the style there was a heck of a mess to greet me, as a load of the trees that once were standing have now fallen. The first images I took were these two…I must admit this was a great shame to me as this tree, when it stood, had a great silhouette as you might be able to tell.

This tree must have made an almighty snapping sound when it fell over

This tree must have made an almighty snapping sound when it fell over

A second image from the other end of this tree showing the fact there is not a root system to be seen, so it didn't really have a chance in the wind

A second image from the other end of this tree showing the fact there is not a root system to be seen, so it didn’t really have a chance in the wind

However, once you look around at the other trees hat are still standing (just) you realise that it’s not going to be all that long until pretty much all of them may be lying flat as they are rotten and heavily damaged. By what and why I couldn’t say but I thought the image below gave a good impression of the state of the copse. I suspect the best way to describe the trees is “weather-beaten”.

I remember a Simpsons quote "chicks dig scars"...I bet this tree gets all the girls!

I remember a Simpsons quote “chicks dig scars”…I bet this tree gets all the girls!

Moving around, there was an awful lot more evidence of weak trees. In one instance, there was enough room for me to put a fair portion of my upper body into the lower part of one tree and take this image looking up towards the canopy! Some lovely colour and light in here but it felt a little wrong, as I was aware that this void should be full of wood.

Looking up to the canopy through a natural wooden chimney....

Looking up to the canopy through a natural wooden chimney….

Anyway, seeing I have depressed you all with pictures of tree death (even though it is, in a strange way, aesthetically pleasing) I thought I best finish off with a nice Spring picture of some lovely Primroses that appear on our bank every year which came out pretty well.

Less death and destruction, more prettiness! Some Primroses in the Spring sunshine

Less death and destruction, more prettiness! Some Primroses in the Spring sunshine

Sorry, quite a short one this week, but I have a week off so am spending time doing not all that much. I may even have the very first opportunity to wash my car after the stupid hot weather that mean it’s covered in flies and dust at the minute. I shall no doubt post again at some point, but again, feel free to comment and/or request if you wish…I think my next port of call was Llys-Y-Fran reservoir  on a sunny day, so you have that to look forward to.

See you soon….

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

