Spring is…well, springing

Greetings All

Before anyone says it, I know it’s summer but please remember that all the pictures I put on here are in retrospect because the SD card in my camera is blooming massive. However, some treats to come on that…even spotted some more noctilucent clouds the other night. Yay!

These are images from the local nature reserve and from the garden, I’m sure you can work out which is which and cover some springing Spring and the increase in decent weather we were getting and are still getting now. In fact, heard on the news that this is the longest period of sun in this area of the UK for 7 years. Nice. If you are not fair-skinned like me, then you pretty much have to hide from it. As well as this, the water in all the streams nearby is almost gone now, so no waterfall pictures for a short while.

Anyway, to the pictures. Firstly, some more of those grumpy, grumpy swans. Quite frequently the sequence of events of me with swans is

1) Ooh hello, aren’t you gorgeous?

2) No, I have no bread

3) Swan then swims away or bites me (that’s only happened once for those who are concerned)

Thankfully, these two were good enough to stick around for five minutes of fame, but didn’t seem to have any youngsters or chicks. Maybe they were early and had gone their own way already. Who knows.

Swans. A bit like seagulls...but prettier

Swans. A bit like seagulls…but prettier

Next is the content of our famous “Pembrokeshire Bank” that supports two massive trees and a myriad of wild flowers once Spring comes around and there is always a good load of Daffs and Snowdrops if the wind isn’t too high as this picture shows. It’s an annoyance from a strimming point of view for Dad, but it does look very good and I suspect you would need a small amount of high explosive or a tank to remove it!

One of the most popular symbols of Wales, with Snowdrops for company

One of the most popular symbols of Wales, with Snowdrops for company

Warming weather (well, kind of back in Spring) means some convection over the Preseli Hills and creates these spots of towering Cumulus clouds on occasion. If you go back there are further examples of these on the blog too but this was the most photogenic I caught. Nothing really comes of them, but I love the puffy shape and this one even seems to have a tail dragging off to the left….

Towering Cumulus doesn't really tower over Wales but I thought it looked nice

Towering Cumulus doesn’t really tower over Wales but I thought it looked nice

Those clearer days also bring on what? Yes, clearer evenings where I can finally get some sunset pictures in! Although technically not a sunset, this was a nice ‘scape as the waves in the Alto Cirrus really came through with the aid of my polariser. You’ll excuse the foreground but the houses of the estate along the way were hard to hide….

Although it was getting milder and clearing on the ground, it was still obviously cold and icy way up in the sky

Although it was getting milder and clearing on the ground, it was still obviously cold and icy way up in the sky

A close view of that intriguing wave in the high cloud now and I must admit that there was a teeny bit of an electronic fiddle here to deepen the blue for you so it would bring out the brush-stroke effect I love in them. I know it’s the wind pushing ice crystals about in reality, but that explanation always seems too scientific to me…where’s your romance?!

A deeper study of the Cirrus mentioned above...see what I mean by the Cosmic Paintbrush?

A deeper study of the Cirrus mentioned above…see what I mean by the Cosmic Paintbrush?

So there we are for a nother post, moe Spring pictures to come next time as well as the effects of a windy night on an area not so far from me that has been changed for good because of it. Thanks for keeping in touch…please feel to comment and/or request.

See you soon!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

