And here is Part 2

Yeees, I did say there would be another part to this. Behold!

Basically, as I did the walk, this part is where I decided to walk up the cliffs and try to reach a beach far, far away. Further than it seemed actually and by the time I saw it in the distance, I was tired and it was getting pretty close to when I’d have to go home, so I turned around and came back.

Remember the image last post of the cliff? Well, this picture is from the top just along the way and shows how popular the beach is, even in winter, judging by all the footprints and dog tracks.

Foot prints, although annoyingly ruining a smooth surface, are quite artistic in a way

Foot prints, although annoyingly ruining a smooth surface, are quite artistic in a way

Moving along the cliff in the direction of Barafundle Beach, you see a very nice close up of Church Rock. Still doesn’t look like a church to me but there we go. From some angles (obviously not this one), it apparently looks like a Scotty dog, but I guess its how you are wired up as to what you see isn’t it? Alas at low tide it pretty much looks like a rock to me…

I can only presume that this rock looks like a dog from offshore, as I can't see it from here

I can only presume that this rock looks like a dog from offshore, as I can’t see it from here

Along this track, there a quite a few hidden bays and lovely sandy beaches. There seems to be no way to get to them apart from abseiling, so they are pretty much undisturbed which makes them very photogenic. Lucky me! Apparently, this one is called Box Beach. No idea why but maybe it’s a reference to the fact there are lots of caves just up the cliffs that acted as boxes for storage in times gone by? Talking of caves, there are some quite deep depressions in the cliff top just up from here too, but they are so wide that I couldn’t fit them in the picture! If I had a scale it would have been more impressive, but maybe next time I will find a way.

Box Beach, with a returning boat from the islands in the distance

Box Beach, with a returning boat from the islands in the distance

The next large beach is more of a cove and was (if you have seen the video, please refer to the archive) full of birds making quite a racket to be honest. However, it’s nice to see them acting naturally and they fact they have a roost where they can relax. The rock in the middle to the left is named Pinnacle Rock and it’s pretty obvious why to be honest! In the distance, the cliffs are Stackpole Head where I headed next…

Pinnacle Rock and Stakpole Head in the distance...long way down I assure you

Pinnacle Rock and Stakpole Head in the distance…long way down I assure you

The wind was really picking up but the sun was still out which I was glad of, as it brought out the positively alien colours in the lichen on the head. Nothing else really grows here apart from scrubby grass so I guess it has all the chance it needs to flourish…all I did to extract the real colour from it was to use a polariser on the lens.

I admit I checked the settings when I saw this picture, but this is how it really appeared...go look!

I admit I checked the settings when I saw this picture, but this is how it really appeared…go look!

I had pretty good timing in all, because as I headed back, the cirrus had built up to a fairly solid layer of haze/cloud on the horizon and things were getting milky and the sun was being covered. So, as this began to happen, got a quick snap out to sea with some lovely curves on the gathering cloud in the distance before it all collapsed into plain white. I do know a follower who will particularly enjoy this picture 🙂

A view out to sea, the Bristol Channel, next stop is the island of Lundy

A view out to sea, the Bristol Channel, next stop is the island of Lundy

Well that was that walk..hope you enjoyed the piccies and if you are nearby, why not borrow someones dog and drag it around?! I think you’ll find it worthwhile but bear in mind, you will need some pretty good boots and head for heights.

Should have some weather pictures coming up soon, so the next subject may change from the land to the sky, hope to see you there. Thanks for dropping by again.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

