Broad Haven South – Part 1

Hello!

Yes, this title would suggest that there is going to be another post at some point. I have lined up the next set of pictures already, so I am committed now! Anyhow, no excuses for the length of time since posting this week, let’s just get on with it.

As you may see from the title, this was a walk I took in the area of Broad Haven south beach…or is it Broadhaven? Maps disagree. I took it upon myself to go out as it was a lovely winters day at this point (it was a while back) so this situation lends itself more to taking pictures as there are fewer people about to get in the way.

To get to the beach, you have to go through the Bosherton Lily Ponds, owned by the National Trust and the main reason you have to pay to abandon your vehicle, although I don’t begrudge £1 for a days parking, unlike some who line the road outside!

Fairly uneventful walk down to the start and I apologise in advance for the very beige pictures throughout the post, as the trees hadn’t started to bud significantly at this point. The scenery was still very nice and if you took a side path up a hill, you got a pretty good view almost at the very start…

The view down the currently empty Lily Pond to the beach

The view down the currently empty Lily Pond to the beach

Also, I was greeted by a few “interesting” bridges that traversed shallow water (you could see the dead reeds at the bottom) made of a mix of concrete, wood and bolts. I sure these were pretty original and repaired as and when needed but they didn’t seem all that stable and I was thankful there weren’t lines of people passing each other as I am sure there are in the Summer.

I suggest a sign here that says "Single-file or Swim" but I suspect I may be ignored

I suggest a sign here that says “Single-file or Swim” but I suspect I may be ignored

From these bridges, you get a lovely view down towards the beach along the reed beds. Yes, it’s not very photogenic if I’m to be honest, but stop complaining, there’s a blue sky, cirrus and contrast; this is a thing to be celebrated!

A view along the extensive reed bed; those of you with eagle eyes will see a cairn of sorts on the hill. Not sure what that signifies, as it was unlabelled

A view along the extensive reed bed; those of you with eagle eyes will see a cairn of sorts on the hill. Not sure what that signifies, as it was unmarked

Around the corner, I almost bumped into a couple who had stopped in the middle of the path. I wasn’t exactly sure why to be honest, so I mentally tutted and walked around them to be confronted by a man hand-feeding little Robins. Bless! Now, that’s something that you don’t see every day….alas, they wouldn’t pose on him, but I did manage to catch a picture of this cheeky chap daring me to get closer!

"You going to just stand there, or is there bread?!"

“You going to just stand there, or is there bread?!”

Come to the end of the track past the reeds and you are afforded a lovely view, complete with bench for those of us of a lower fitness level, of the well used path to the lovely sandy beach and in the distance, Church Rock. In terms of distance, this is very close to shore, only 150 yards or so and is quite dramatic close up.

The "drain" from the Ponds out towards the beach with Church Rock in the distance. Mmmm, I know, I haven't seen a church like that either!

The “drain” from the Ponds out towards the beach with Church Rock in the distance. Mmmm, I know, I haven’t seen a church like that either!

As a beach, it’s way up on the list in Pembrokeshire apparently; it has very high water quality and its south-facing location and dramatic cliff views backed by sand dunes and expansive National Trust woodland and Lily Ponds which are located behind the beach make it quite a draw. I wandered a little further on to take a picture of the contrast in rocks and sand to illustrate the “microcosm”…

The varied landscape in such a small area that draws so many people to this beach

The varied landscape in such a small area that draws so many people to this beach

I confess I have only been a few times but I’d go there if I had a dog or a family to drag along! Does this look a touch familiar? It should do, as I posted a video of this spot not so long ago to encourage you to absorb the natural beauty…if you can’t recall, have a look through the archives, I’m sure you will find it.

Anyway, that’s the first part of my loop and the landscape I saw, the next set of pictures are from the top of the cliffs to be added shortly…thanks for stopping by.

Remember, if you like a picture, please feel free to ask for a print, don’t just pinch them for free!

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

