..and now, the weather

Hello all,

A great British obsession, the weather. I think, personally, that the forecast is infinitely more interesting than the news programmes that come before it most days seeing our news is mainly pestilence, famine and war or a mixture of, most of which we are involved in.

It’s been quite a wet winter here in Wales, but apparently, we shouldn’t worry as it’s going to be drier over the next few days. But it’s going to get colder. Yay! I keep wanting to wash the car but not much point if it’s going to be sprayed with salt again as soon as I venture out!

Anyway, enough of my gibbering about cars, I should get these pictures up. These are just a few random ones from recent walks and I will confess that I have smoothed them all for your viewing pleasure as there is quite a lot of cloud that doesn’t focus very well when you take a snap! The first image was an interesting “stepped” cloud formation over the nearby refinery in Milford Haven that’s visible from a hill a short walk from where I live. Yes, it’s not pretty but it creates a bit of context.

I think a friend who visited this area referred to the stacks as "industrial beauty" especially at night, but I'm sure some would disagree

I think a friend who visited this area referred to the stacks as “industrial beauty” especially at night, but I’m sure some would disagree

Moving further down, I went on a few trips to Newgale and I think the next two images were only a day or so apart, just shows how different the sky can look in a short amount of time. In the first instance, you can see a towering storm cloud (I think I know the name but won’t embarrass myself by getting it wrong) that has been lit by the sun going down; a bit hazy and not as pretty as some I have seen but nice none the less, particularly in black and white as I have posted it here.

This towering cloud was too far away to give any rain but still looked imposing

This towering cloud was too far away to give any rain but still looked imposing

Moving on, same beach a few days later but a different set of sky and a different set of colours. Over to the left, you can see a few ships in the queue for the Haven deep water channel, probably dropping off some materials for the refining process. On stormy days I do feel sorry for them, bobbing around out there!

I do like a good set of sunrays, me

I do like a good set of sunrays, me

Finally, one of those famous squalls over the hills I quite often see just from the house. This one didn’t really amount to much, you can see some light rain on the left in the distance but the mix of colours from dark to light once again caught my eye, as it always does.

Been seeing quite a few of these this winter...makes the season seem very long!

Been seeing quite a few of these this winter…makes the season seem very long!

Looks to be a little brighter here today so I may try to just go down to Port Lion and explore the woods. This is if I get the tide right as if it’s high I have to take a long diversion instead of the direct approach along the beach. Here’s hoping for a little sun to make any pictures a bit brighter!

Stay tuned for the results in a few weeks following uploads…and don’t forget my YouTube channel, just search “Luke Johnson” and choose the channel search from the filters; the more views, the more videos I will post. Thanks!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

