Back to a regular haunt

Hello You

Hope you are well, thanks for dropping by. If you are a regular or even a subscriber, you will probably know that I have a thing for water in some of my pictures, especially moving water. However, I haven’t popped any of those types of pictures on the blog for a while, so I have looked through the hard drive and here are a few more for you.

In this instance, I had the opportunity to play about as there were some movements and colours from leaves in the waterfall area that made things a touch more interesting than usual. I did spend some time up at the top of the waterfall, but there wasn’t much interesting there. Another issue is, even though I was wearing my wellies, there were a few small trees blocking my way from a recent stormy period, so I took a “top down” picture instead.

If it looks like I am very near the edge, it's because I was. In fact, one of the tripod legs slipped off just after I took the picture!

If it looks like I am very near the edge, it’s because I was. In fact, one of the tripod legs slipped off just after I took the picture!

Heading down, I set up to take a few pictures of the waterfall itself. Not much water coming down this time (I have seen this fall in flood and it is a sight to behold, in fact I think I posted them on here a while back). Whilst I was fiddling about with shutter speed, I noticed a branch had lodged in the rocks to the right, was covered with lovely leaves and was creating a little eddy of bubbles now and again, so that became my focal point. Took a while to get that perfect full circle blur I tell you! I suspect if I went back today it would all be gone…eroded away by the constant movement of water. How poetic!

I suspect that this photo may have needed smoothing in Photoshop. However, if anyone wants a properly processed one by email, please feel free to ask!!

I suspect that this photo may have needed smoothing in Photoshop. However, if anyone wants a properly processed one by email, please feel free to ask!!

Further downstream, leaves came into play once again where set of stepping-stones ford the stream. There’s no danger in wading across but you would get pretty wet I suppose. Again, this is zoomed in because the undergrowth around the area was a mess so, apologies for the lack of context!

Now, this image WAS smoothed as there was a bit of fuzz. However, I would like to stress that the yellow leave was not placed in any way, it was there naturally, hence the image working as well as it does.

Now, this image WAS smoothed as there was a bit of fuzz. However, I would like to stress that the yellow leaf was not placed in any way, it was there naturally, hence the image working as well as it does.

Carrying on down you come to one of the quietest beaches I know of. On this occasion I was the only person here..again. Don’t get me wrong, I like Newgale beach very much but the barking dogs and people screaming at their kids can be a bit of an annoyance! As it was quite still, I have made my first attempt at blurring water to try to soften the waves coming in that were only a few inches tall. Anyone care to comment? I think it works quite well and to top things off, the sky was quite pretty too.

Some smoothing by shutter speed of the waves with a nice pink reflection from the dusk clouds. Lovely afternoon.

Some smoothing (by shutter speed and addition of a neutral density filter) of the waves with a nice pink reflection from the dusk clouds. Lovely afternoon.

Well, another instalment is done and I though the images are all pretty good, seeing all this jazz is self-taught.

Now the weather has calmed down and this funny yellow thing is hovering in the sky, I may be able to pass on some decent sunsets to you all, so keep coming back and subscribing! Thanks again!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

