Last of the holiday pictures and a local walk

Hello again all of you,

I do hope that you have subscribed to my YouTube channel. Well, I know that one person has…yes, it’s no fancy channel full of up to date topics but now and again I shall try to put a video of interest on there. I warn you now that my interest are quite varied, so it won’t just be weather. At the moment the weather is grey dull and damp, ideal for the Sunday papers, so I can’t think any videos will be coming for some time!

There weren’t too many pictures left over from my holiday, so I have put the one that I though was worth sharing on here, a little bit weather based. I think it was almost the last morning so I was up early to pack and there was a nice bit of mist and dew getting burnt off (slowly) in the field near the castle. Not often I’m up early enough or free to take a picture of this, so I got a few snaps.

Some mist burning off in the Monmouthshire countryside

Some mist burning off in the Monmouthshire countryside

Moving on, another visit to Newgale beach now in Pembrokeshire and I decided to explore the front at a very low tide. I didn’t realise that the caves I found were quite so extensive and that the rock was as aesthetically pleasing as it was. Usually, the tide is in enough to be wary of when I arrive, so I hadn’t ventured down to look around.

A monochrome conversion of some of the rocky folds on Newgale

A monochrome conversion of some of the rocky folds on Newgale

Quite glad I did to be honest. Apparently, there’s the remains of a petrified forest around on the beach here too. I need to check out which end of the beach that is (as it’s a good long walk from one end to the other at low tide) and have a good look for it. There was no evidence of it here, but I did get some nice monochrome of the rocky waves, as you can see.

I then moved along the front looking at the cliffs which had a very nice looking wave in them. when you watch the documentaries on TV talking about rock being folded around by extreme forces, this makes you realise quite what they mean. If I had a wider lens, I could have got a better shot of the entire part this picture is a part of, but you never know, someday.

Folds and caves under the road to St Davids. Most people passing through would probably never see this.

Folds and caves under the road to St Davids. Most people passing through would probably never see this.

As the tide was coming in, I decided to move inland but stuck me head in one of the caves/holes nearer the “safe zone” where the tide wouldn’t catch me out. Look at these veins of rock. I’m no geologist, but I think the whiter bits and veins are quartz, as that is quite prevalent in this area. Other than that I’m stumped I’m afraid.

Funny to think that those little pebbles in the picture can create such a hole over time

Funny to think that those little pebbles in the picture can create such a hole over time

Mind you, I was more taken by the effect that waves and pebbles (one of which I pinched as it was quite pretty…sorry) had been having over the years on what probably started out as a teeny tiny hole. The grey rock was as smooth as you could imagine rock could be. Very nice and well worth a picture.

Well, that’s the lot for this week, nowt too exciting I admit but I shall be moving on to a new card next time and I have some slightly different images of my favourite waterfall to post, so you should pop in and have a look if you have the time. Thanks for visiting!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

