A break in Monmouthshire

Hello All,

I’ve been promising for some time that I’d post pictures on here of a recent holiday in Abergavenny and I have finally popped the pictures onto my PC so you can have a few. I’m afraid that these are of my favourite things..waterfalls and castles. I know, so predictable. But these are different places, so you can’t complain too much!

I stayed in a little village about halfway between Hereford in England and Abergavenny in Wales, a charming place called Grosmont. For charming in this instance, read “difficult to park in”. Thankfully it was out of season, so there was some choice when I came back from my escapades.

Having thought as I was typing, you are actually seeing the pictures in the correct order as these were all taken on my way to my arrival, so I’ll stick with it and pass on more from further into the trip in a few days. On to the pictures; firstly, I decided to traverse a steep decent that lead to this waterfall, the highest in South Wales with a drop of 90 feet (27 metres)…

The (taller than it looks) Henrhyd Falls

I then moved on further along the southern edge of the Brecon Beacons (roughly in the direction of the cottage according to my sat-nav) to arrive at Waterfall County to get to the closest falls. By this time, I realised my estimate of arriving at 3 pm, as I told the landlady, was a teeny bit ambitious seeing I got to the car park at 2 pm and needed to undertake a 45 minute walk there and back to get to this falls. Mind you, what a pretty place! I dare say it’s a Mecca for geology students with the shelf and what-have-you and has very well-worn path to it…

Lady Falls in Waterfall Country National Park

I finally arrived nearer dinner time to be honest but no matter…I had thought ahead and stocked up at Lidl. God Bless Lidl microwave meals. The sun was beginning to set but I managed to get a few shots of Grosmont castle as you can see below. This is a Designated Ancient Monument and in pretty good nick all told seeing it’s from the 12th and 13th century! It made a nice focal point in the village to be honest, hope you think so too…

Grosmont Castle at sunset

So, there’s the first instalment. Some coal mining history and wandering in the Black Mountains to come soon. Keep this frequency clear and hope to see you soon.

  1. #1 by Jim. on February 14, 2013 - 7:17 pm

    Lovely pictures Luke. Did you notice how clean the beaches were in Pembrokeshire ? :-{ )

    • #2 by lukegeoffreyjohnson on February 17, 2013 - 10:09 am

      Thanks for that Jim

      Funnily enough I did notice…makes my photos just a bit better lol!

      Luke

Leave a Reply

