Long abandoned slate quarry

I have always meant to go to this place, I drive past it over the Preseli Hills on the way to the town of Cardigan; when you are more or less at the top of the pass road, you can see the excavations of the quarry carved into the hill near the village of Rosebush. I never really looked into how to get there but had a look on Google Earth one day and I’m glad I did.

The property is now owned by the National Park Authority but I suspect that it’s just in name alone as it’s no tourist attraction for sure! For a start you have to walk to get there and there is no parking which is a big no-no for lazy Joe Public…just look how lazy people are next time you park at the supermarket.

Overall, as you can see below, very attractive cobalt blue pools hidden down little paths are a boon for those of an arty persuasion. I thought this picture was nicely balanced colour wise with the lichen on the wall of slate too. The water looked inviting but I dare say it was like ice below the surface.

Anyone for a dip?!

Down the end of this path was even more of a surprise, a blooming great big ‘ole. The plant life surrounding it was quite amazing, ranging from little alpine flowers to creepers (the name of which escapes me). Walking around was a task in itself, as the slate was all very loose and I could see me slipping if there were damp bits here or there. There were loads of high ferns so I had to keep a beady eye out for holes too I can tell you! Although I like helicopters, I had no desire to be airlifted from one after plummeting to leg-breaking depths!

If you can’t work out where the hole is, it’s at the end of the low wall running in from the right. Well hidden.

So here it is, that hole. Impressive huh? To all intents and purposes, I guess it has its own little climate down there but, as you can see, the ferns love it. Like a very sheltered temperate rainforest often found in New Zealand….made of slate. Cool. If I were of a more radical persuasion I’d climb down. But I’m not and I wouldn’t want to spoil it. I will be back though, I’m sure, so there’s time for that yet.

Not deep by any stretch of the imagination, but I imagine it would hurt if you fell in!

Well, there we are for another week or so. Shan’t be on next week I don’t think as I am going to Birmingham watching Top Gear Live. May I shall post some pictures from that……

See you all soon!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

