Found it!

Ice halo and sundog...I was just lucky with the contrail

I knew I had that picture of the ice halo and found it after trawling both my memory and my hard drive. Whilst many people have been experiencing moon ice halos (see http://spaceweather.com/ for pictures, but you’ll need to scroll down), I have yet to see one of those, so this will have to do and it’s been way to cloudy and wet where I live of late. Personally, I think this may even be a touch rarer, as wouldn’t the air during daylight hours be warmer so reducing the chance of an ice halo at all? Not sure. At the left (at around 9 o’clock) you may spot that there’s a little sundog too, I believe, so two for the price of one.

Apologies for the spots of dust, I couldn’t adjust the image to get rid of them without changing it entirely, so try to ignore them! Back shortly with a more artistic picture, as this one’s a bit plain.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

