The wonder of polarisation!

Back again. Thanks to all those who visited over the last few days and hopefully will continue to do so, even if it’s just every now and then.

I said I’d post a shot of the ford in the Preselis that my father and I visited of late and here it is, nestled in a steep valley on a single track road. A nerve wracking drive indeed and we even saw one driver back out of going through the ford whilst we were there!

Polarised ford, Craig Rhos-y-Felin

Interestingly, or not if you aren’t at all bothered about geology, as well as holding the stone which have been pretty much proven to have “made” Stonehenge, it’s also scattered with a fair amount of bright white quartz, some of which is decorating my room at the moment.

You can read about the “bluestone” and the study of these rocks by going to this link (right-click and select “open in new window”)…… http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-south-west-wales-16245746

If anyone is interested in the post title and why I chose it, it’s becasue I used my favourite tool, a circular polarising filter. A whole £5 from Argos but has the ability to reduce reflection and bring out features below water as well as a few other tricks. The water here was approximately 6-8 inches deep, for note. So, if you see pictures where it looks like the water is a layer of glass, it’s not Photoshop, it’s a snazzy layer of glass screwed onto the camera. The things you learn from the interweb…..

Next time, I think I’ll look out my pictures of noticlucent clouds and tell you a little about them…see you soon!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

